PSL 2018 Draft

Pakistan Super League 2018 Teams/Squads/Players List.
The drafting procedure for the third edition of Pakistan Super League, set to be played in 2018, was held at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore on Sunday (November 12). This edition will have six teams, with the addition of a new franchise called Multan Sultans. Shoaib Malik and Tom Moody were announced as the captain and the coach of the side respectively. The five incumbent teams were allowed to retain nine players each. The newest franchise, Multan Sultans, were allowed to pick, without any riders, their nine pre-draft players from the pool of players released by other franchises in the lead up to the draft today.

A total of 501 players (308 foreign and 193 local) were a part of the draft. Franchises were allowed to pick one player each from Platinum, Diamond and Gold categories, while selecting two each from the Silver and Emerging Players list to stack up their squad with a maximum of 20 players. Each team had a purse of USD 1.2 million. Platinum category players will earn between $140,000 and $200,000. Diamond category players had a minimum price of $70,000 whereas the Gold category players had a minimum price of $50,000. The minimum cap for Silver category players and Emerging Category players was kept at $22,000 and $10,000 respectively.

Karachi Kings

Retained players: Imad Wasim (captain), Usman Khan, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Ravi Bopara, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Shahid Afridi

Draft picks: Colin Ingram, Mitchell Johnson, Luke Wright, David Wiese, Tabish Khan, Mohammad Irfan Jr, Hasan Mohsin, Colin Munro, Eoin Morgan, Saifullah Bangash

Transfer(s): Shahid Afridi was brought in from Peshawar Zalmi. As a deal, Karachi Kings and Peshawar Zalmi exchanged their draft pick orders in the gold and silver categories, meaning Peshawar were able to pick ahead of Karachi in those two categories in exchange for Afridi. According to the rules, since Peshawar Zalmi were the winners of the last edition, they were supposed to get the last pick each round. In addition to Afridi, Karachi Kings brought in Mohammad Rizwan from Lahore Qalandars in exchange for Sohail Khan.

Lahore Qalandars

Retained players: Brendon McCullum (captain), Umar Akmal, Sunil Narine, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Cameron Delport, Aamer Yamin, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Khan

Draft picks: Chris Lynn, Mustafizur Rehman, Bilal Asif, Raza Hasan, Sohail Akhtar, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Ghulam Mudassar, Angelo Mathews, Mitchell McClenaghan, Gulraiz Sadaf

Transfer(s): They traded Mohammad Rizwan, to Karachi Kings, for Sohail Khan.

Islamabad United

Retained players: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Sami, Andre Russell, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Samuel Badree, Iftikhar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Asif Ali

Draft picks: JP Duminy, Luke Ronchi, Faheem Ashraf, Sam Billings, Zafar Gohar, Sahibzada Farhan, Hussain Talat, Alex Hales, David Willey, Mohammad Hasan, Mohammad Hasnain

Transfer(s): Iftikhar Ahmed was brought in from Peshawar Zalmi in exchange for their supplementary picking order in the second round of the draft.

Quetta Gladiators

Retained players: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mahmudullah, Umar Amin, Mir Hamza, Asad Shafiq

Draft picks: Shane Watson, Carlos Brathwaite, Rahat Ali, Rameez Raja Jr, Saad Ali, Saud Shakeel, Hassan Khan, Jason Roy, Rashid Khan, Moin Khan (jr.), Faraz Ahmed

Peshawar Zalmi

Retained players: Darren Sammy (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shakib al Hasan, Kamran Akmal, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar.

Draft picks: Dwayne Bravo, Tamim Iqbal, Hammad Azam, Saad Nasim, Taimoor Sultan, Sameen Gul, Sameen Gul, Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis, Khalid Usman, Muhammad Arif

Transfer(s): Gave away Iftikhar Ahmed for a supplementary pick in the second round of the draft.

Multan Sultans

Pre-draft players: Shoaib Malik (captain), Kieron Pollard, Kumar Sangakkara, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Irfan Khan, Kashif Bhatti

Draft picks: Imran Tahir, Darren Bravo, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Abbas, Nicholas Pooran, Abdullah Shafique, Saif Badar, Hardus Viljoen, Umar Gul, Umar Siddiq, Ross Whiteley

No responsibility is taken by CricketHighlights2 for the accuracy of this information.

About Cricket Highlights

Check Also

England vs Pakistan 1st Test Day 1 Highlights

England Vs India 5th Test Day 3 Highlights – Sept 9, 2018

Ind v Eng highlights today – fifth test day three from Kennington Oval, London (England) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *